

The Authors Guild Applauds Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) and Josh Hawley (R-MO) for Introducing the No Section 230 Immunity for AI Act

November 8, 2023

The Authors Guild applauds Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) and Josh Hawley (R-MO) for introducing the *No Section 230 Immunity for AI Act*. The bill would clarify that Section 230 immunity will not apply to claims based on generative AI, ensuring consumers have the tools they need to protect themselves from harmful content produced by the latest advancements in AI technology. The bill would also allow authors and other creators to sue companies in federal or state court for harm by generative AI models.

The Authors Guild believes that it is crucial for our culture and the future of democracy to ensure that our literature and arts remain vibrant and diverse. Generative artificial intelligence is already significantly impacting human creators, making it essential to hold AI companies accountable for the content generated by their algorithms. In our pursuit to protect the value of original human expression, we are dedicated to safeguarding the interests of our members throughout the U.S. and the world by ensuring that AI companies, and their generative models, adhere to the fundamental "Three C's:" Consent, Credit and Compensation. Through these efforts, we aim to foster a creative landscape where the rights and contributions of human authors are respected and upheld.

Exempting generative AI from Section 230 encourages responsible practices within the technology industry and promotes a balanced ecosystem where creativity and innovation can thrive. For this reason, the Authors Guild wholeheartedly endorses the *No Section 230 Immunity for AI Act*.

We will continue to work with Senators Blumenthal and Hawley, as well as all other Members of Congress, to advance this bill to ensure our voices are heard.

The bill text is available here.

The Authors Guild is the nation's oldest and largest professional organization for published writers with over 14,000 members. Since our founding, we have served as the collective voice of American authors and have long supported the rich and diverse literary culture of our country. Our members include novelists in all genres and categories, nonfiction writers, journalists, historians, poets, and translators. We advocate on behalf of working writers to protect free speech, freedom of expression and authors' copyrights; fight for fair contracts and authors' ability to earn a livable wage; and provide a welcoming community for writers and translators of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and journalism. The Authors Guild officers include Doug Preston, W. Ralph Eubanks. Monique Truong, Peter Petre, and Rachel Vail. Along with luminaries such as Sherman Alexie, Judy Blume, Jennifer Egan, Louise Erdrich, Annette Gordon-Reed, Tayari Jones, CJ Lyons, Frederic Martini, Cathleen Schine, Hampton Sides, Viet Thanh Nguyen, Georges Ugeux, and Meg Wolitzer who serve on the Authors Guild Advisory Council.