Post Archives

Lauren Groff & Garth Risk Hallberg Named Granta Best Young American Novelists

Lauren Groff and Garth Risk Hallberg have been named Granta Best Young American Novelists.

Nathaniel Philbrick Wins George Washington Prize

Nathaniel Philbrick has won the George Washington Prize for Valiant Ambition: George Washington, Benedict Arnold, and the Fate of the American Revolution. The prize honors the year’s best book on the nation’s founding era.

Manu Herbstein Receives CABA Honor

Manu Herbstein’s The Boy Who Spat in Sargrenti’s Eye has been named a 2017 Honor Book for Older Readers by the Children’s Africana Book Awards (CABA) Committee. The recipients will be honored at a dinner ceremony in November at St. […]

Susan Faludi, Alexander Maksik, & Afaa M. Weaver Receive Guggenheim Fellowships

Susan Faludi, Alexander Maksik, and Afaa M. Weaver were named Guggenheim Fellowship recipients. Announced on April 6, the fellowships are “intended for individuals who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.”

Susan Faludi Named a Pulitzer Finalist

Susan Faludi’s In the Darkroom was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Biography.

Victor LaValle & Ellen Datlow Named Hugo Finalists

The Hugo Award finalists were announced on April 4. Victor LaValle’s The Ballad of Black Tom was nominated for Best Novella. Ellen Datlow was a finalist in the Best Editor category.

Louise Erdrich, Monica Hesse & Ann Patchett Finalists for ABA Awards

The American Booksellers Association announced the finalists for the 2017 Indies Choice Awards and the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards. Louise Erdrich’s LaRose and Ann Patchett’s Commonwealth were finalists in the Adult Fiction category. Monica Hesse’s Girl in the Blue Coat was a […]

Ben H. Winters Named ITW Thriller Award Finalist

Ben H. Winters’s Underground Airlines was named a finalist for the 2017 ITW Thriller Awards in the category of Best Hardcover Novel.

SCBWI Announces Golden Kite Award Winners

The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) announced the winners of its 2017 Golden Kite Awards on March 20. Russell Freedman’s We Will Not Be Silent won in the Nonfiction category. Krystyna Poray Goddu’s A Girl Called Vincent […]

Susan Marsh Wins Wallace-Stegner Prize

Saving Wyoming’s Hoback: The Grassroots Movement that Stopped Natural Gas Development  by member Susan Marsh and Florence Shepard won the 2016-17 Wallace Stegner Prize in Environmental Humanities.