Post Archives

Brit Bennett Named a John Leonard Prize Finalist

Brit Bennett‘s The Mothers has been named a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle’s 2016 John Leonard Prize. The prize is awarded to the best first book in any genre.

Mark Monmonier Inducted Into the URISA GIS Hall of Fame

Mark Monmonier has been inducted into the Urban and Regional Information Systems Association GIS Hall of Fame, in recognition of his books and research contributing to the “development and application of GIS concepts, tools, or resources.” The induction ceremony took […]

Sherry Monahan Wins Will Rogers Gold Medallion Award

Sherry Monahan won the Will Rogers Gold Medallion Award for her latest, The Cowboy’s Cookbook. The award ceremony took place on Saturday, October 29 in Ft. Worth, TX.

Roy Blount, Jr Inducted Into the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame

Former Guild president, Roy Blount, Jr. has been inducted into the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame. The induction took place at a ceremony on November 7 at the Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries in Athens, GA.

Ann Patchett Receives Writers for Writers Award

Ann Patchett is one of three recipients of the 2017 Poets & Writers/Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award, which recognizes writers who have given generously to other writers or to the broader literary community. She will be honored at […]

Daco Auffenorde Wins Three Global Ebook Awards

Daco Auffenorde’s Electromancer won the 2016 Global Ebook Awards Gold medal in the Fantasy/Contemporary category. Her short story, “The Alexandrite Necklace,” co-authored with Robert Rotstein, won the Gold medal in the Short Stories category and a Bronze medal in the […]

Deborah Cramer’s ‘The Narrow Edge’ Receives Numerous Honors

Deborah Cramer’s The Narrow Edge: A Tiny Bird, An Ancient Crab, and An Epic Journey has received the Keck Communications Best Book Award 2016 from the National Academies of Science, the Rachel Carson Book Award 2016 from the Society of […]

James McGrath Morris Wins Benjamin L. Hooks Institute’s National Book Award

James McGrath Morris’s Eye on the Struggle: Ethel Payne, the First Lady of the Black Press has been selected by the Benjamin L. Hooks Institute for Social Change as the winner of its National Book Award for 2015. The award […]

Erik Larson and Scott Turow to Receive Carl Sandburg Literary Awards

The Chicago Public Library Foundation and the Chicago Public Library will honor AG member Erik Larson and former Guild president Scott Turow with Carl Sandburg Literary Awards tonight at the Sandburg Literary Awards Dinner. The award recognizes “outstanding contributions to […]

Mia Alvar Receives the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize for Fiction

Mia Alvar is the recipient of the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize for Fiction, for her short story collection In the Country.