Post Archives

Martha Hodes Named Director of NYPL Cullman Center

Martha Hodes has been appointed for a two-year term as Interim Director of the Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers at the New York Public Library, beginning September 2021. Hodes was herself a Cullman Center Fellow […]

Michael Coffino’s Truth Is in the House Wins Several Awards

Michael Coffino’s Truth Is in the House won a Pacific Book Award in the Historical Fiction category, an International Impact Book Award in the Friendship category, and three Firebird Book Awards in the categories of Social/Political Change (1st Place), African […]

Lois Roma-Deeley Named Scottsdale Poet Laureate

Lois Roma-Deeley has been named the new Poet Laureate of Scottsdale, Arizona. The honor comes with a $1,500 honorarium. She will serve as Poet Laureate until December 24, 2024.

Michelle M. Pillow Receives Mississippi Arts Commission Grant

Michelle M. Pillow has received a Mississippi Arts Commission Grant. The $500 grant will be used to distribute review copies in promotion of her Order of Magic paranormal women’s fiction series.

Howard Gardner Receives USIA Award

Howard Gardner has been awarded the 2021 United Sigma Intelligence Association Award in recognition of his contribution to arts, science, and humanity.

Linda Eve Diamond Honored with NFSPS Awards

Linda Eve Diamond was honored with the National Federation of State Poetry Societies’ (NFSPS) Founders Award. In addition to receiving the First Place prize for her poem, “A Thin Line,” she was also awarded Third Place for her poem, “Light Fades” and an […]

Barry Longyear Wins Prometheus Award

Barry Longyear’s The War Whisperer, Book 5: The Hook has won the 2021 Prometheus Award for Best Novel.

Thomas Wiewandt Wins Benjamin Franklin Award

Thomas Wiewandt’s Fossils Inside Out: A Global Fusion of Science, Art, & Culture won the 2021 Silver Benjamin Franklin Award from the Independent Book Publishers Association and was named a Finalist in the 2021 Next Generation Indie Book Awards.

Jeff Schnader Wins Quills Creative Writing Contest; Named Finalist for Blue Moon Competition.

Jeff Schnader’s short story “The Champion” won 1st Prize in the League of Utah Writers 2020 Quills Creative Writing Contest, in the category of Fiction. His forthcoming novel The Serpent Papers was named a finalist in the 2021 Blue Moon […]

Brett Dakin Nominated for Eisner Award

Brett Dakin‘s American Daredevil: Comics, Communism, and the Battles of Lev Gleason received an Eisner nomination for Best Comics-Related Book.