Post Archives

Lisa Owens Wins 2nd Place in WOW! Essay Contest

Lisa H. Owens’s essay “What You Can Do in 8 Minutes and 46 Seconds” won Second Place in WOW! Women on Writing’s quarterly Creative Nonfiction Essay Contest.

Joy Harjo Reappointed U.S. Poet Laureate

Joy Harjo has been reappointed to a third term as U.S. Poet Laureate by the Library of Congress. She is only the second poet to serve three consecutive terms. Her third term will begin next September.

Judith Cody Nominated for Best of the Net Award

Judith Cody‘s poem “Fields of Roses. Markers. Flags.” was nominated for Sundress Publication’s 2020 Best of the Net Award.

Robin Clifford Wins 2nd Place in Writer’s Digest Competition

Robin Clifford Wood’s poem “Mother’s Day at a Distance: May 2020” won second place in the Writer’s Digest Annual Writing Competition in the Rhyming Poetry category.

Dana Quinney’s Wildflower Girl Named ILA Book of the Year

Dana Stewart Quinney’s Wildflower Girl has been chosen as the 2019 Book of the Year by the Idaho Library Association.

David Tamanini Wins AAHGS Award

David Tamanini’s Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem won the 2020 International Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society Book Award in the IABA Historical Fiction category

Joseph VanZutphen Named New Mexico-Arizona Book Award Finalist

Joseph VanZutphen’s Child of Sonora was named a finalist in the 2020 New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards in the category of ebook Fiction

Terence Harkin Wins MWSA Silver Medal

Terence Harkin‘s The Big Buddha Bicycle Race was awarded the Military Writers Society of America’s 2020 Silver Medal in the category of Literary Fiction.

Anne Posten & Elisabeth Jaquette Shortlisted for National Book Awards

Anne Posten’s translation of Anja Kampmann’s High as the Waters Rise and Elisabeth Jaquette’s translation of Adania Shibli’s Minor Detail were shortlisted for the National Book Awards in the category of Translated Literature.

Walter Mosley to Receive National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters

The National Book Foundation announced that it will award Walter Mosley with the 2020 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. The award will be presented during the online National Book Awards ceremony on November 18.