The Authors Guild Board of Directors is called its Council, and is composed entirely of writers. They are nominated by a committee and then elected by the membership, which they serve by addressing the issues that most concern working writers.


Douglas Preston


W. Ralph Eubanks

Vice President

Monique Truong

Vice President

Peter Petre


Rachel Vail


Members of the Council

Rich Benjamin
Amy Bloom
Mary Bly
Alexander Chee
Pat Cummings
Sylvia Day
Peter Gethers
Lauren Groff
Christina Baker Kline
Maya Shanbhag Lang
Min Jin Lee
Nicholas Lemann
Steven Levy
D.T. Max
Daniel Okrent
Julia Sanches
James Shapiro
Stephen Hong Sohn
Kelly Starling Lyons
T.J. Stiles
Jonathan Taplin
Jia Tolentino
Danielle Trussoni
Nicholas Weinstock

Ex-officio* and Honorary Members of the Council

Roy Blount Jr.*
Barbara Taylor Bradford
Robert A. Caro*
Susan Cheever
Anne Edwards*
James Gleick*
Erica Jong*
John R. MacArthur
Stephen Manes
Victor S. Navasky
Sidney Offit
Mary Pope Osborne*
Letty Cottin Pogrebin*
Roxana Robinson*
Jean Strouse
Nick Taylor*
Scott Turow*

Advisory Council

Sherman Alexie
Judy Blume
Jennifer Egan
Louise Erdrich
Annette Gordon-Reed
Tayari Jones
CJ Lyons
Frederic Martini
Cathleen Schine
Hampton Sides
Viet Thanh Nguyen
Georges Ugeux
Meg Wolitzer