All Contests, Grants, and Residencies
Contests, Grants, and Residencies

ALTA Translation Prizes

The American Literary Translators Association is currently accepting submissions for their 2016 Translation Awards: the National Translation Award [in Prose and Poetry], the Italian Prose in Translation Award, and the Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize. The National Translation Award is awarded annually for an exceptional book of translated literature published within the previous year. To be eligible for the 2016 National Translation Award, the translation must be from any language into English, of a book-length work of poetry, prose poetry, or verse drama, and published anywhere in the world in 2015. The winners will each receive $2,500. The Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize is awarded to an outstanding work of Asian literature published within the previous year. To be eligible for the prize, submissions must be book-length translations of Asian poetry or source texts from (but solely not commentaries on) Zen Buddhism and translated from Hindi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean into English. The winner will receive $5,000. The Italian Prose in Translation Award recognizes the importance of contemporary Italian prose (fiction and literary non-fiction) and promotes the translation of Italian works into English. Books of fiction or literary non-fiction translated from Italian into English and published in English in the previous calendar year are eligible. The winner will receive $5,000.

Entry fee: (varies, see website for details)

Deadline: April 8, 2016

For more information, please visit the website.