All Contests, Grants, and Residencies
Contests, Grants, and Residencies

AWP Award Series

The Association of Writers and Writing Programs (AWP) sponsors annual competitions for book-length works: the Donald Hall Prize for Poetry and the Grace Paley Prize for Short Fiction, both of which award the winners $5,500 and publication, as well as AWP Prize for Creative Nonfiction and AWP Prize for the Novel, the winners of which receive $2,500 and publication. The competition is open to all authors writing in English regardless of nationality or residence, and is available to published and unpublished authors alike. Only book-length manuscripts are eligible. The Award Series defines “book-length” as: 48 pages minimum text for poetry collections; 150-300 manuscript pages for short story or creative nonfiction collections; and at least 60,000 words for novel manuscripts.

Entry fee: $20 for AWP members, $30 for non-members.

Deadline: February 28, 2016

For more information, please visit the website.