All Contests, Grants, and Residencies
Contests, Grants, and Residencies

Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing Fellowships

The Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing is currently accepting applications for up to five fellowships. Typically there are two fiction fellowships (the James C. McCreight Fiction Fellowship and the Carol Houck Smith Fiction Fellowship), two poetry fellowships (the Jay C. and Ruth Halls Fellowship and now the Ron Wallace Poetry Fellowship), and one fellowship in either fiction or poetry for a graduate of the University’s MFA Program in Creative Writing (the Halls Emerging Artist Fellowship).These fellowships provide time, space, and an intellectual community for writers working on a book of poetry or fiction. To be eligible for applicants must have completed an MFA or PhD in Creative Writing by August 15th of the fellowship year. Applicants must submit a C.V. and a writing sample of either 10 pages of poetry or up to 30 pages of fiction. Fellows will receive a stipend of $30,000 ($27,000 plus a $3,000 prize paid in August).

Application fee: $50 (waived for HEAF applicants)

Deadline: February 29, 2016

For more information, please visit the website.