All Member Awards and Achievements
Member Awards and Achievements

Summer 2011

The James Beard Foundation’s 2011 Book, Broadcast & Journalism Awards were presented at a ceremony on May 9, at Lincoln Center in New York. On Food and Cooking: The Science & Lore of the Kitchen, by Harold McGee, was inducted into the Cookbook Hall of Fame. The Very Best Recipes for Health: 250 Recipes and More from the Popular Feature on, by Martha Rose Shulman, was a finalist in the Healthy Focus category, and Good Meat: The Complete Guide to Sourcing and Cooking Sustainable Meat, by Deborah Krasner, was a finalist in the Single Subject category.

The Eric Hoffer Awards for short prose and books honor the memory of philosopher Eric Hoffer by highlighting notable writing and honoring the independent spirit of small publishers. The winning stories and essays are published in an annual anthology. The 2011 winners included: Diana M. Raab, Writers and Their Note­books, Academic Press category; and Richard Jackson, Resonance, Poetry. The First Runners-up included Jean Naggar, Sipping from the Nile, Memoir; and Vicky Oliver, 301 Smart Answers to Tough Business Etiquette Questions, Business. Honorable mentions were given to Matthew Tully, The Chimera Seed, Commercial Fiction; M. M. Gornell, Reticence of Ravens, Commercial Fiction; Jan Donley, The Side Door, Young Adult; and Catherine Wanek, The Hybrid House, Home.

The 23rd annual Lambda Literary Awards were presented at a reception on May 26 in New York. Winners included Gender Outlaws: The Next Generation, co-edited by Kate Bornstein (and S. Bear Bergman), and Secret Historian: The Life and Times of Samuel Steward, Professor, Tattoo Artist and Sexual Renegade, by Justin Spring. The books also received acknowledgment at the Publishing Triangle Awards, presented on April 28 in New York. Gender Outlaws received a Special Award in Nonfiction and Secret Historian received the Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction. The Sensual World Re-Emerges, by Eleanor Lerman, was a finalist for the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry. The finalists for the Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBT Fiction included Big Bang Symphony, by Lucy Jane Bledsoe, and The Silver Hearted, by David McConnell.

The Texas Institute of Letters presented several awards at a banquet in Dallas on April 30. C. W. Smith received the Lon Tinkle Award for sustained excellence in a literary career, as well as the Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story for “Caustic,” originally published in Southwest Review in 2010. Dotti Enderle received the Austin Public Library Friends Foundation Award, Young Adult Book, for Crosswire.

Walter Brasch received three awards from the Pennsylvania Press Club, an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women, at the organization’s annual luncheon and awards banquet on June 4 in Myerstown. The awards were in the categories of features, columns, and business and labor.

The Haunting of Charles Dickens, by Lewis Buzbee, was named an honor book and runner-up for the 2011 Judy Lopez Memorial Award for children’s literature, sponsored by the Women’s National Book Association, Los Angeles Chapter, in association with the Judy Lopez Memorial Foundation.

Charlie Russell: Tale-Telling Cowboy Artist, by Lois V. Harris, was a finalist for the 2011 Western Writers of America Storyteller Award, part of the annual Spur Awards. The book was also a 2011 Parents’ Choice Recommended Award winner, an honor sponsored by the Parents’ Choice Foundation.

Ellen Kirschman received the Public Safety Writers Association’s 2011 Grand Prize for I Love a Cop: What Police Families Need to Know. She also received first place in the category for unpublished books of fiction for her manuscript, Burying Ben.

Diane Stanley received a 2011 Arab American Book Award, Children/Young Adult, for Saving Sky. The award will be presented at a ceremony on September 29 in Washington, DC. The awards are sponsored by the Arab American National Museum and focus on books and authors dealing with the Arab American experience.

June A. Willenz was inducted into the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame at a ceremony on March 29 at the Miller Senate Office Building in Annapolis. Willenz was cited for her lifetime career as a global human rights advocate, in particular through her work on behalf of female veterans.