All Events

AG Events

32nd Annual Authors Guild Foundation Gala

Thursday, May 30, 2024


6:00 pm Eastern

Pier Sixty, 60 Chelsea Piers, New York, New York

The Authors Guild Foundation invites you to join us on Thursday, May 30, for the 32nd Annual Authors Guild Foundation Gala ​​​​​​​at Pier Sixty in NYC. The evening will be graciously hosted by Adriana Trigiani.

This prestigious literary event gathers some of the most notable writers of our time and literary enthusiasts to celebrate the achievements and contributions of individuals who have made significant impacts on the literary community and raises critical funds to support our important work. In an era marked by book banning and artificial intelligence, many authors are struggling to navigate the changing industry and earn a living. The Authors Guild and Foundation are at the forefront of the fight to champion and safeguard the rights of authors.

2024 Honorees

W. Paul Coates and Black Classic Press
Publisher Award for Distinguished Service to the Literary Community
presented by Walter Mosley

Suzette Baker
Champion of Writers Award

presented by George M. Johnson

Heather Cox Richardson
Baldacci Award for Literary Activism
presented by Ken Burns

Jesmyn Ward
Preston Award for Distinguished Service to the Literary Community
presented by LeVar Burton

This year, in addition to our general tickets, we’re excited to offer VIP tickets who will receive an earlier arrival time of 6 p.m. and preferential seating, as well as listing in the event program.

The attire for the evening is black tie optional. If you have any questions, please contact Nikki Maniscalco at

Can’t make it but still want to support the Authors Guild Foundation?

Special thanks to our generous sponsors!

History Sponsor
Suzanne Collins & Charles Pryor

Novel Sponsors
HarperCollins Publishers

Anthology Sponsors
Hachette Book Group
Penguin Random House
Scholastic Inc.
Simon & Schuster
The Lesher Family Foundation

Biography Sponsors
Amazon Literary Partnership
Marie Arana & Jonathan Yardley
Authors Equity
Kauai Writers Conference
Friends & Fiction
Taryn & Mark Leavitt
Leon Levy Foundation
Macmillan Publishers
Katherine Neville
Susanna Porter & James Clark
Douglas & Christine Preston
Roxana & Hamilton Robinson
Susie Orman Schnall & Samantha Greene Woodruff
Karyn Schoenbart & ViralMoment
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
R.L. & Jane Stine

After party sponsored by Spotify

2024 Gala Committee Members

Christina Baker Kline, Committee Chair
Marie Arana
Karen Brailsford
Karen Duffy
Lucy Ferriss
Patti Callahan Henry
Taryn Leavitt
Lisa Leshne
Steph Opitz
Chris Pavone
Susanna Porter
Roxana Robinson
Hunter K. Runnette
Ben Sevier