All Events

AG Events

31st Annual Authors Guild Foundation Gala

May 9, 2023

6:30 pm Eastern

The Grand Ballroom at The Plaza Hotel, 768 Fifth Avenue, New York, New York

We hope you can join us on Tuesday, May 9, 2023 at The Grand Ballroom at The Plaza Hotel for the 31st Annual Authors Guild Foundation Gala hosted by Roxane Gay and Debbie Millman!

We are looking forward to gathering in person again to honor Christopher Finan with The Authors Guild Foundation Award for Defending Free Speech and Expression presented by Tracie D. Hall, Roxana Robinson with The Authors Guild Foundation Preston Award for Distinguished Service to the Literary Community presented by Elizabeth Strout, and Angie Thomas with The Authors Guild Foundation Award for Literary Activism presented by Jason Reynolds.

For more information about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Lynn Boulger, executive director of the Authors Guild Foundation, at

If you are interested in sponsoring an author to attend the event, please contact Nikki Maniscalco at

2023 Gala Committee

Christina Baker Kline, Committee Chair
Marie Arana
Mary Bly
Alexandra Enders
Lisa Gornick
Maya Shanbhag Lang 
Lisa Leshne
D.T. Max
Laura Pedersen
Hunter K. Runnette

Special thanks to our generous sponsors!

History Sponsor
Suzanne Collins & Charles Pryor

Novel Sponsors
HarperCollins Publishers
Diana Rowan Rockefeller
Writers House

Anthology Sponsors
Hachette Book Group
Meredith & Justin Lesher
Scholastic Inc.
Simon & Schuster

Biography Sponsors
Lee Child
Kauai Writers Conference
Macmillan Publishers
Laura Pedersen
Douglas & Christine Preston
The Nora Roberts Foundation
Hamilton Robinson, Jr. in honor of Roxana Robinson
Temple Hill Entertainment
Word of Mouth
Zibby Books