All News

Industry & Advocacy News

Authors Guild Congratulates 2024 Guggenheim Fellows

Black and white closeup of a vintage typewriter, with focus on the top two rows of the keyboard

The Authors Guild extends its warmest congratulations to the 2024 Guggenheim Fellows in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translation, U.S. history, and biography, including Guild members Emma Straub, Jonathan Alter, and Thomas Beller. This prestigious award recognizes the recipients’ exceptional achievements and promise in the literary arts, placing them among a distinguished group of artistic creators working across various disciplines. 

As Edward Hirsch, president of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, said in their press release, “The Guggenheim Fellowship is a celebrated investment in the lives and careers of visionaries who are generating new possibilities and pathways across the broader culture.” The 2024 fellows embody this spirit through the innovative and exciting projects they are working on. 
Camille Bordas 
Jamel Brinkley 
Emma Cline 
Laird Hunt 
Julia Phillips 
Kirstin Valdez Quade 
Emma Straub 
Justin Torres 

General Nonfiction 
Jonathan Alter 
Thomas Beller 
Jefferson Cowie 
David Mura 
Beth Nguyen 
Jennifer Raff 
Sonia Shah 
Christina Sharpe 
Adam Shatz 
James Wood 

Kaveh Akbar 
Jos Charles  
Elaine Equi 
Vievee Francis 
Airea D. Matthews 
Robyn Schiff 
Safiya Sinclair 
Tracy K. Smith 
Mai Der Vang 

Ryan Bloom 

U.S. History  
Ned Blackhawk 
Elizabeth Hinton 
Christina Snyder 

Nicholas Frankel 

The Authors Guild commends the Guggenheim Foundation for recognizing the immense talent and potential of these remarkable writers. We eagerly anticipate the groundbreaking work that will emerge from their fellowship year and the lasting impact their projects will have on the literary landscape. 

See the full list of 2024 fellows here.