All News

Industry & Advocacy News

AG Congratulates the Winners of the 2022 Pulitzer Prizes in Arts and Letters

We applaud the winners and finalists for the 106th annual Pulitzer Prizes in 15 journalism categories and seven arts and letters categories. The 2022 Pulitzer Prizes marked several historic firsts: Raven Chacon, a member of the Navajo nation, is the first Native American composer to win for music; Kristina Wong is the first Asian American woman to be named a finalist for drama; and Mai Der Vang is the first Hmong American to be named a finalist for poetry. A new journalism category, “Illustrated Reporting & Commentary,” recognizes the use of graphic storytelling and editorial cartoons.

The 2022 winners in the arts and letters categories are:

  • Biography: Chasing Me to My Grave by the late Winfred Rembert as told to Erin I. Kelly
  • Drama: Fat Ham by James Ijames
  • Fiction: The Netayanhus by Joshua Cohen
  • General Nonfiction: Invisible Child  by Andrea Elliott
  • History: Covered with Night by Nicole Eustace and Cuba: An American History by Ada Ferrer
  • Music: Voiceless Mass by Raven Chacon
  • Poetry: frank: sonnets by Diane Seuss

Authors Guild Advisory Board member Viet Thanh Nguyen, who won the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, was among the 17 voting members of this year’s Pulitzer Prize Board. He wrote that Andrea Elliott’s Invisible Child deploys tremendous narrative power to deliver the intimate human news that should be at the heart of all our debates around incarceration, poverty, and injustice.”

The Pulitzer Prizes recognize the best in U.S. print, online, photo, and audio journalism, literature, and musical composition annually. Established in 1917 by provisions in the will of American newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer, Columbia University oversees the administration of this highly prestigious award.

In addition to awarding the Washington Post with the 2022 Gold Medal for Public Service for coverage of the January 6 attack on the U.S. Capitol building, the 2022 Pulitzer Prize Board also awarded a special citation to the journalists of Ukraine.