All News

Industry & Advocacy News

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2022 National Book Awards

On November 16, the National Book Foundation announced the winners of the 2022 National Book Awards in five categories:

  • Fiction: Tess Gunty, The Rabbit Hutch
  • Poetry: John Keene, Punks: New and Selected Poems
  • Nonfiction: Imani Perry, South to America: A Journey Below the Mason-Dixon to Understand the Soul of a Nation
  • Translated Literature: Samanta Schweblin, Seven Empty Houses as translated by Megan McDowell
  • Young People’s Literature: Sabaa Tahir, All My Rage

The recent steep rise in book banning was a strong underlying theme during this year’s event. Art Spiegelman received the Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, a lifetime achievement award, for his Pulitzer Prize-winning graphic novel Maus. The Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community went to Tracie D. Hall, the executive director of the American Library Association.

The National Book Awards are among the most prestigious honors bestowed upon American authors. The winners in each category receive $10,000, a statue, and a bronze medal. Finalists receive $1,000 and a bronze medal.

We applaud all the winners and finalists and thank them for their contributions to the rich and diverse body of American literature.