All News

Industry & Advocacy News

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2024 Pulitzer Prizes in Letters

Low Library at Columbia University, site of the Pulitzer Prize Awards Ceremony

The Authors Guild applauds the winners and finalists of the 108th annual Pulitzer Prizes in letters

The 2024 winners in the letters categories are: 

  • Fiction: Night Watch by Jayne Anne Phillips  
  • History: No Right to an Honest Living: The Struggles of Boston’s Black Workers in the Civil War Era by Jacqueline Jones  
  • Biography: King: A Life by Jonathan Eig  
  • Biography: Master Slave Husband Wife: An Epic Journey from Slavery to Freedom by Ilyon Woo  
  • Memoir or Autobiography: Liliana’s Invincible Summer: A Sister’s Search for Justice by Cristina Rivera Garza  
  • Poetry: Tripas: Poems by Brandon Som 
  • General Nonfiction: A Day in the Life of Abed Salama: Anatomy of a Jerusalem Tragedy by Nathan Thrall  

In recent years, the Pulitzer Board has recognized the brave reporting of journalists covering conflicts in Ukraine and Afghanistan. This year, the board gave a special citation to the courageous journalists and media professionals reporting on the war in Gaza, often under life-threatening conditions. Tragically, an extraordinary number of journalists have lost their lives while striving to share the stories of Palestinians and others affected by the conflict. The war has also claimed the lives of poets and writers, whose voices and perspectives are now forever lost. As the Pulitzer Prizes celebrate excellence in journalism, arts, and letters, we acknowledge the immeasurable loss of these invaluable records of human experience. 

The Pulitzer Prizes annually recognize the best in U.S. print, online, photo, and audio journalism, literature, and musical composition. They were established in 1917 by provisions in the will of American newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer. Columbia University oversees the administration of these highly prestigious awards.